Le Va

Pacific mental health and addiction scholarships


Le Va is committed to growing the Pacific mental health and addictions workforce.                  

The purpose of the scholarships is to grow and upskill the Pacific mental health and addiction workforce supporting Pasifika mental health and addiction workers and for students to choose a future that works for them and Pasifika communities. Applications are now open and close 5pm, Friday 24 February 2017.

How to apply

There are two application forms available and the eligibility criteria for both is different:

If you do not meet the fast track criteria or this is your first time applying for a Pacific mental health and addictions scholarship, you will need to complete a ‘New’ application.

'New’ applicants must:

  • be a NZ citizen or permanent resident at the time of application
  • be enrolled in a mental health and/or addiction related qualification at a tertiary education provider
  • submit a correctly completed application form with required documents attached no later than Friday, 24 February 2017

Download the new application form

'Fast track’ applications are for 2016 scholarship recipients who:

  • have gained a grade point average of 5.0 or a B average (or higher) across all Le Va funded papers in 2016
  • are enrolled in the same course of study at the same tertiary education provider as 2016
  • submit a correctly completed application form with required documents no later than Friday, 24 February 2017

Download the fast track application form

Successful recipients receive a financial contribution towards their academic tuition fees and automatic placement and participation in the Futures that work programme.

Congratulations to our 2016 recipients

The 2016 assessment panel, consisting of representatives from the Ministry of Health, Pacific leaders in the mental health and addiction sector and Le Va, reached a final decision to allocate $200,000 to 48 Pacific students to establish and/or develop and upskill in these sectors.

Visit the 2016 results for an overview of the scholarship recipients by study area, ethnicity, education provider and region.

Recipients were awarded their scholarships from the Associate Minister of Health, Hon Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga, Ministry of Health Pacific advisor Matafanua Hilda Fa’asalele, Acting Director of Health Workforce NZ Margareth Attwood and the Mental Health and Addictions Team Leader, Derek Thompson from the Ministry of Health.

Read more about the awards evening and view the dinner photos.

You can also read about previous scholarship recipient Aulola He-Polealisi Fuka Lino and her work in Tongan suicide prevention and Poutasi Urale-Baker and his work in gambling and addictions research. Also have a read about how Le Va has supported recipients Natalie Leger, Rosa Solomona, Papali’itele La’a Uitime, Dwaine Faletanoa’i and Epe Ana Elisara through the workforce pipeline.